Fender Silverface questions

Started by hayseed, January 11, 2011, 12:09:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hayseed

I guy offered to swap me a Fender Silverface AB165 for my Acoustic rig(220 w 406 1x18 cab). I don't know much about these. It was re tubed recently (he says "2 6l6" ) and new caps. He thought it was a 1970 or 71. I am led to believe its a 1967.  Seems like a good amp but i have zero knowledge of old Fender amps. Is this considered a Bassman? I doubt i will trade for it(holding out for a Sunn Concert bass) but some info would be cool. Thank you .

Take into consideration if i did get this it would be re sold in order to get something i may actually want. So getting info on the value may help too.
"We just want to make the walls cave in and the ceiling collapse. Music is meant to be played as loudly as possible, really raw and punchy, and I'll punch out anyone who doesn't like it the way I do." - BON SCOTT, AC/DC

NoSleepTilSleep

Will you be using this (yes the AB165 is a bassman) for bass? The name's a bit of a misnomer, those 2 6L6's are gonna put out 60-75watts max. Fairly useless for bass, unless you've got some stereo rig in mind.

For guitar, pretty killer, they take pedals like a champ and with a bit o' verb you get the sweetest clean tones out there.

All the info you'll ever need about any Fender amp
http://www.ampwares.com/amp.asp?id=28

Just read the last part of your post. The Bassman's tend to sell for sub $500, unless with a cab and immaculate.. your Acoustic rig is probably more valuable.

hayseed

i was gonna use it for bass. i know people love them for guitar. thanks. I would assume then that my move towards a Sunn Concert bass is a good better choice than the Bassman?
"We just want to make the walls cave in and the ceiling collapse. Music is meant to be played as loudly as possible, really raw and punchy, and I'll punch out anyone who doesn't like it the way I do." - BON SCOTT, AC/DC

Lumpy