anyone using solid state stuff besides sunn/acoustic?

Started by justinhedrick, January 21, 2011, 11:32:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

justinhedrick

our drummer has a really old peavey duece combo with a crazy phaser on it. it is one with chrome knobs, no tubes, and the different channel inputs are at either side of the chassis. thinking of using that thing w/ my VTM 60 2x15 rig.

anyone use any solid state stuff?

Danny G

I thought Deuce combos were tube?

My friend in HS bought a Deuce that had been cut in half and turned into a head. All tube.
The less you have, the less there is to separate you from the music -- Henry Rollins

http://dannygrocks.com
http://dannygrocks.blogspot.com

beardofcthulhu

I've been using the same Peavey Transtube Supreme head for about 10 years.  the tone on it isn't very remarkable, but a cranked clean channel with a little tube screamer sounds pretty authentic. ( I bought the head in conjunction w/ a 5150 412 for $350)  It's served me well since day one, and I've learned to live with its shortcomings.  That being said, I'd slaughter a village of pygmies for a JSX...
Peace through volume.

VOLVO)))

I used an Ampeg SS-70 for a long time, and before that solid state Randalls like Crowbar used.
"I like a dolphin who gets down on a first date."  - Don G

CHUB CUB 4 LYFE.

Chovie D

Yes. My gigging amplifier is an Evans. I use it for pedal steel and guitar live. Why?  because its extremely light weight (i have an injured back)and sounds killer on pedal steel. It took quite a bit of experimentation to get a useable guitar tone out of it tho. For guitar I put a Seymour Duncan Twin Tube Classic preamp pedal in front of it and am satisfied. If I was just playing guitar I'd bring my tweed deluxe clone instead.

SS amps can be  good on instruments like bass and pedal steel or any application where you need clean power.

hayseed