Main Menu

Headset Mic

Started by Discö Rice, September 20, 2011, 02:03:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Discö Rice

Yes, I know they're silly, but microphones on stands tend to die HORRIBLE, noisy deaths when placed anywhere within swinging range of my drumsticks, and I don't like having to turn my head or stay in one place while I'm racing around my kit. The point is, I'm a vocalizing drummer, not a drumming vocalist. My requirements are ergonomics first and foremost, minimal encumbrance, resistance to picking up my drums, and good clear sound with no feedback. I understand this will probably mean $$$.  Any advice?
Somebody's gonna eat my pussy or I'm gonna cut your fucking throat.

Hemisaurus

Depends how expensive you want to go. They have like karaoke headset mics, which do the job OK, though you can see how long it will last. I should qualify that, Gzus had an expensive Shure headset mic, and it had this real fine cable running from the end of the stalk, result it's now fucked, and pretty impossible to repair.

Discö Rice

I was thinking higher end. Wired is fine, but $39 karaoke mics won't do at all.

Discö Rice

Hemisaurus

Err yeah, see above, expensive ain't always better, check for where the cables enter and exit the headset and how well reinforced they are.

Discö Rice

Looks fairly well reinforced and super lightweight.

Discö Rice

didn't see your edit at first, and I see your point, hemi. I like this, but crap that's expensive (for my budget)

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Shure-PGX14-PG30-Headset-Wireless-System-278029-i1438690.gc

Hemisaurus

I'd start with one of the sub $50 ones and see how you like it first ;D

Discö Rice

The way I play I'm gonna have to start doing some serious cardio on the side to make this work.

Discö Rice

but you may be right about trying it out on the cheap first.

beardofcthulhu