High On Fire, KvelertaK, Doomriders 11.13.13 Underground Arts, Philly, PA

Started by SabbathJeff, November 14, 2013, 01:18:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SabbathJeff

Last night was a blast.

Took my good old friend Z to her first High On Fire gig, while I myself joined the 5 timers club in my robe, a glass of brandy and pipe in mouth (haha...) seriously though, it was very nice introducing a friend I've known for 8 years to the High On Fire experience.  She said she loved it, and I couldn't disagree with that.

Doomriders were first.   Didn't seem like many people enjoyed their set, myself included.  I don't know, it just was a bad introduction on the night, I guess.  High On Fire should've taken a Black Breath/Black Cobra type of situation out on the opening slot with kvelertak on the bill, it would have been just right.  Alas, I don't book these things.

Kvelertak.  KVLT troo Norwegian black metal.  What a crazy, fun fucking band to watch.  3 goddamn guitars, the bass, drums, and then that crazy dude screaming.  Who came out with a gutted owl over his head and started singing the first song looking more satanic than...any other show I've ever seen, I suppose.  they were done after 5 epics, and left me with my jaw on the floor and neck already hurting, though I knew I'd better save some for what was next.  Totally want an album now, and so cool to see a band from Norway play that old school fast satanic shit..\m/ :o \m/ Big pits broke out, good to see.

Not in correct order, and not quite complete, here's what I'm remembering that High On Fire played as I didn't write a setlist down last night, thought I'd just go and enjoy the tunes.  10,000 Years, Fireface, Eyes & Teeth, Razor Hoof, Cometh Down Hessian, Fury Whip, Rumors Of War, Snakes For The Divine, Serums Of Liao, Madness Of An Architect, (King Of Days?  Pretty sure), Slave The Hive and actually that may have been everything.