Homebrew Beer Thread.

Started by NCR600, September 30, 2011, 09:55:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NCR600

Anyone else (apart from MJS, who I already know makes his own beer) homebrew?

I did a fair bit of it years ago, mostly from extracts with mini mashes of specialty grains and hop additions, and I'm just getting into it again now my taste has outgrown my wallet. I've done one similar brew (an IPA) from extract and was pretty disapoint, so I've bit the bullet and I'm gonna do a Brew in a Bag style all-grain brew. I've modified a 36 litre stock-pot into a Hot Liquor Tank/Mash Tun;

With false bottom so the mash bag doesn't burn on the element

Element, Filter and Temp Probe.

Been trying to make it so as it's temperature controlled and I don't need to throw old blankets on top while the grain is mashing, but the second hand temperature cuntroller I nicked from work was a dud and blew up while I was testing it tonight, so I'm stuck with lagging the pot while the grain mashes. Good thing I made the element run off a standard three pin plug.

I'm making an American style IPA using New Zealand hop varieties with Australian grown Barley, so I guess it'll be a Pacific Rim India Pale Ale!

Recipe:

Bongin Bongin IPA #1a (American IPA)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.068  (°P): 16.6
Final Gravity (FG):    1.017  (°P): 4.3
Alcohol (ABV):         6.66 % (The Number of The Yeast)
Colour (SRM):          14.7   (EBC): 29.0
Bitterness (IBU):      62.0   (Average)

82.8% Pale Malt
8.28% Crystal 60
8.28% Vienna
0.64% Black Malt

1.5 g/L Super Alpha (12% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
1.2 g/L D Saaz (5.4% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil)
1.2 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.5% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil)
1 g/L Pacific Gem (13.7% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil)
2 g/L D Saaz (5.4% Alpha) @ 7 Days (Dry Hop)

0.0 g/L Whirlfloc Tablet @ 10 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 66°C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes

Fermented at 19°C with Safale US-05

Recipe Generated with BrewMate